Brisbane shoegaze band Deafcult have today released the video for ‘Summertime‘, the lead single and second cut from their forthcoming debut album ‘Auras‘, out June 30 via Hobbledehoy Record Co..

To celebrate their debut album release, the band have also announced a string of launch shows down the East Coast and Adelaide this July and August with a host of guests including TV Haze, Horror My Friend, Jen Buxton & The Slaughterhouse Five and more.

The limited edition ‘Auras‘ silver vinyl pre-orders have sold out. Two other limited colour vinyl variants are available to pre-order via Hobbledehoy [Here].

Coming in at just over 2 and a half minutes, ‘Summertime‘ is one of the more upbeat tracks on ‘Auras‘, with steady rhythms and layered guitar work wrapped in pop sensibilities, and is the follow up to first single ‘Rubix‘, which was released online last month.

On ‘Summertime‘, co-vocalist Stevie Scott says;

Summertime is about July 1999. It’s about various encounters I found myself in with people of previous generations trying to tell me how life should be and their obvious disdain at my disagreement. It looks at the complex nature of human emotions. Love vs hate from the point of view of a catastrophic thinker. To me anyway… Or maybe it’s just a pop song?” The video has its own scuzzy feel, showing the band perform under a distorted overlay.

Watch the video for ‘Summertime‘ below.


Auras‘ is a record about dreams: the ghosts of people, the places and situations from the past that haunt your dreams (or stop you from having them all together). It reflects on romanticised memories as a disaffected teenager in the suburbs, tales of love, drugs, death, and the overwhelming feeling of finding yourself but still feeling completely lost. The 12 songs that make up the album are wrapped in noisy guitars, blunted drums, fuzzed-out synth and soaring vocals. While on paper it might sound initially abrasive, there is an overwhelming sense of gentleness to Deafcult’s music that you find calm in, even when they push past the boundaries of abstraction – even when you find yourself deep in ‘Auras‘ most distorted moments.

Formed in in 2015, the members of Deafcult came together after playing in Brisbane bands The Gifthorse, Nuclear Summer and Roku Music. Following the release of their self-titled debut EP in 2015, they have moved through personnel changes, the sextet have now solidified their line-up, consisting of Innez Tulloch (Vocals, guitars), Stevie Scott (Vocals, guitars, synth), Kelly Hanlon (Guitars), Matt Bach (Guitars), Allan McGregor (Bass) and Nathan Crust (Drums).

Check out the album launch tour dates below. Tickets available at the door for all shows.


15th – Crown & Anchor, Adelaide [18+] w/ Horror My Friend, Blush Response and Pony Tail Kink
16th – The Curtin, Carlton [18+] w/ White Walls, Lowtide and TV Haze
21st – The Brightside, Brisbane [18+] w/ Pleasure Symbols, Ultra Material, Spirit Bunny, and Tall Pines DJs
4th – The Red Rattler, Marrickville [18+] w/ Sounds Like Sunset, Skullsquadron and Egoism
5th – Hamilton Station Hotel, Newcastle [18+] w/ Safe Hands, Jen Buxton & The Slaughterhouse Five, Obat Batuk, and Post Truth
—> Tickets available at the door.
—> For more information, visit [Here].



1. Lemonade Beauty
2. Secret Wisdom
3. Summertime
4. Sparkle
5. Auras
6. Indigo Children
7. Stars Collide
8. Rubix
9. Echoes
10. Judy
11. Urusai
12. Here Be Death


Deafcult photo by Nico Ford.


Want more news? The Round-up is our daily news wrap which is posted at 4:30pm each weekday with a summary of the day’s news, gig, ticket, release reminders, as well as additional shorter news pieces. Check it out [Here].
Want the news delivered to your inbox instead? Sign up for our free weekly e-mail newsletter. You’ll get a wrap of the weeks news, heaps of additional news that we can’t fit on site, reminders of tours and releases coming up, exclusive subscriber competitions and more delivered to your inbox on a Friday morning. Simply head [Here] to sign up / view a sample newsletter.