Sydney prog outfit Stare at the Clouds have announced the release of their debut album ‘This Clear Divide‘ for Friday 15th April.

The album is a five year journey for the songwriters from thought to finished product.

The brainchild of Seb Key, Stare At The Clouds takes inspiration from the likes of Karnivool, A Perfect Circle, Radiohead and Between The Buried And Me.

A project that began as a collaboration between Seb and his wife, Cassandra on drums, was given new life when joined by Keelan Butterick on vocals and guitar, Evan Jackson on bass and Jacob Grindrod on guitar in 2012.

This Clear Divide‘ explores a subject’s response to a trauma. Each track represents a moment, a reaction or an emotional state at certain points throughout the subject’s internal processing of their anguish.

Songs that had begun as bedroom recordings were crafted and shaped in live rehearsal spaces over 4 years, and were taken to Jungle Studios to be recorded and mixed with Nathan Sheehy between 2013-2015. During this time, the band have also been honing their live act, supporting the likes of Dumbsaint, Solkyri, Majora, Glass Ocean, and more.

Pre-Orders on iTunes are available now [Here], where you’ll get the single ‘The Falling‘ as an instant download.

Give the single a listen below, and stay tuned for tour dates to launch the album coming soon.



1. Prelude
2. The Falling
3. Concurrent Abreaction I: Presage (The Hunter)
4. Concurrent Abreaction II: Ocean
5. Concurrent Abreaction III: The Outside
6. Concurrent Abreaction IV: Lucah
7. Concurrent Abreaction V: We Lie In Shadows
8. Concurrent Abreaction VI: Sehnsucht
9. Dead Letters
10. Cutting The Ties