Animal Style Records recently welcomed Exeter, UK’s Muncie Girls to their roster. The label will release the band’s debut LP ‘From Caplan to Belsize‘ in February along with Specialist Subject Records and Uncle M Music.

You can check out a new video for the track’Gas Mark 4‘ from the new album below.


Born in punk shows and dive bars to three driven teenagers in 2012, Muncie Girls embodies the classic punk rock story in a modern context. Fueled by discontent and anxiety, the Exeter trio eloquently addresses modern living as a self-aware young adult. The result is an ambitious and poignant rebellion against social norms that touches on everything from politics to interpersonal relationships.

After an impressively prolific start, releasing EPs and splits every year since their formation, Muncie Girls is finally gearing up for the release of their first full-length via Animal Style in 2016. The album’s title, a reference to Sylvia Plath’s ‘The Bell Jar’, perfectly compliments the themes found on the album – coping, healing, and shedding restraints.

Musically, the album is a dynamic and emotional exploration of punk and indie rock. The album’s bouncy catchiness is sure to be a hit with fans of Hop Along, Lemuria, Latterman, and RVIVR, but one of the defining characteristics of Muncie Girls is their ability to explore outside their immediate influences.

Ultimately, what sets Muncie Girls apart is bassist and lead vocalist Lande Hekt’s unique perspective and its impact on her understated lyricism. Hekt’s dry, unembellished writing style is, in many ways, reminiscent of classic American literature – a trait exceptionally unusual for a punk rock band from Exeter.

Watch the earlier released video for ‘Gone With The Wind‘ below.


1. Learn In School
2. Gone With the Wind
3. Respect
4. Balloon
5. Social Side
6. Nervous
7. Gas Mark 4
8. I Don’t Wanna Talk About It
9. Committee
10. No Recording